Press Releases Spot

OMS-Group to Certify Sensors in Future

Cologne, 08.04.2019 – Twelve member companies of the OMS-Group e. V. founded the "Task Force Sensors" at Techem in Eschborn in April to accelerate OMS certification of these devices. This will facilitate the integration of interoperable sensors into the Open Metering System.

In many European countries, smoke detectors are mandatory at least for new buildings – in Germany this applies in all 16 federal states. The OMS-Group has not yet specified these components in detail. The new "Task Force Sensors" will work out the basics to classify sensors separately. Based on this specification, the OMS Working Group 3 (Testing Norm) will develop a test structure for certification to ensure cross-brand compatibility for sensors as well.

"Interest in participating in the 'Task Force Sensors' was significantly higher than we expected," reports Wolfgang Esch (WEPTECH elektronik), member of the board of the OMS-Group. The OMS-Group is expecting additional members from the future market of wireless sensor communication and a growing demand for OMS-compliant devices as a result of the targeted certification of sensors.

The founding of the "Task Force Sensors" involved the member companies Discovergy, Hager Group/Atral-Secal, Hager Security SAS, ITRON/Allmess, Kamstrup A/S, QUNDIS, STACKFORCE, Techem Energy Services, WEPTECH elektronik, WIKON Kommunikationstechnik and the new members Ei Electronics and Hekatron Brandschutz. Dirk Matussek (Techem Energy Services) was elected as Convener of the Task Force.


Getting down to work with a lot of commitment – participants from the kick-off meeting of the "Task Force Sensors" from left to right: Andreas Herz (QUNDIS), David Baum (Hekatron Brandschutz), Christophe Pelissier (Hager Security SAS), Thorsten Teichert (Ei Electronics), Convener Dirk Matussek (Techem Energy Services), Ronald Müller (ITRON/Allmess), Wolfgang Esch (WEPTECH elektronik), Johannes Münch – representative of Hans-Jörg Beyer (both WIKON Kommunikationstechnik), Bjarne Lund Jensen (Kamstrup A/S), Alexander Gertje (WEPTECH elektronik), Mathias Poulsen (Kamstrup A/S), Abdullah G. Khalil (Discovergy), David Rahusen (STACKFORCE) – not in the picture: Tobias Viertel (Hager Group/Atral-Secal), Achim Reissinger (Project Manager of the OMS-Group). (Photo: OMS-Group)